vita

Vita

“Magical, enchanting!” wrote La Provence about Ulrich Kern’s interpretation of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. Ulrich Kern is distinguished by his stylistically confident interpretations on opera and concert stages and is besides passionately committed to the music of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Born in Stuttgart, the now internationally acclaimed conductor studied at the music academies in Stuttgart and Weimar. He received further decisive impulses from Bernhard Haitink, Jorma Panula and, in the USA, from David Zinman. With support within the framework of the conductor forum of the German Music Council, he has conducted, for example, at the State Theatre of Mainz and at the Kiel Opera.

In the meantime, Ulrich Kern has conducted more than 50 stage productions. His repertoire extends from Mozart's late operas to Wagner's "Tannhäuser", Stravinsky's "Le sacre du printemps", right up to Henze's last opera, "Gisela!", the production of which he took over for in 2012 at the Semper Opera in Dresden.

As a guest conductor Ulrich Kern appears with renowned orchestras, including the German Radiophilharmonie Saarbrücken, MDR-Sinfonieorchester, Dresdner Philharmonie, Staatsorchester Rheinische Philharmonie Koblenz, Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie, Brandenburgischen Staatsorchester Frankfurt and Ensemble Resonanz Hamburg. He made his debut in the USA in 2009 with the Spokane Symphony Orchestra. In 2011 he guested with the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra in France. Ulrich Kern has conducted at the theatres in Bremen, Bielefeld, Osnabrück and at the State Theatre in Salvador/Brazil. The conductor is a welcome guest at internationally acclaimed festivals. He has conducted, for example, at the Aspen Music Festival in Colorado, the Nargen Festival in Tallinn, the Ruhrtriennale, the Impuls-Festival Sachsen-Anhalt and the "International Festival for New Music Darmstadt", in the renowned concert halls of South America such as the Teatro Solis in Montevideo and the new concert hall CCK in Buenos Aires.

In the season 2019/20 Ulrich Kern will celebrate his debut with the Stuttgarter Philharmoniker and conduct Beethoven’s 6th Symphony and his 1st Piano Concerto with the pianist Martin Stadtfeld. The conductor will also make his debut at the Konzerthausorchester Berlin. The MDR-Sinfonieorchester once again invited Ulrich Kern to premiere the specially composed works as the musical highlight of the Bauhaus anniversary year. Further invitations will take Ulrich Kern to the Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester Frankfurt, the Philharmonie Baden-Baden, the Leipziger Sinfonieorchester and Camerata Rheingau. At the podium with the Neue Lausitzer Philharmonie, he will conduct, among others, the 2nd Philharmonic Concert with works by Hector Berlioz, Darius Milhaud and Camille Saint-Säens.

Ulrich Kern works with outstanding soloists, most recently, for example with Harriet Krijgh and Daniel Müller-Schott at the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern music festival and with the harpist, Anneleen Lenaerts in Ghent.

Ulrich Kern is especially interested in collaborating with contemporary composers. With the "Ensemble Resonanz Hamburg", for example, he opened the "Flanders Festival Ghent" with a premiere by Kalevi Aho. In Hamburg's Laeiszhalle the conductor premiered works by Rebecca Saunders and Sven-Ingo Koch. This year he released a recording of the symphonic poem "Die Regentrude" by Klaus Wüsthoff on CD with Martina Gedeck as the speaker.

Radio recordings with Saarländischer Rundfunk, several concerts broadcasted by Südwestdeutscher Rundfunk and by the Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk, lately in October 2017, round off his far-reaching artistic activity.

Ulrich Kern was given numerous awards: Recently his CD „French Trombone Concertos“ with the trombonist Fabrice Millischer and Deutsche Radiophilharmonie Saarbrücken received the German Music Award „ECHO Klassik 2014“ in the category „Concert Recording of the Year – 20th century“. In 2006, he won the “German Music Universities Conductor competition”, which was sponsored by the Herbert-von-Karajan Foundation Berlin, and furthermore received the competition’s special prize for Best Interpretation in the field of Opera.

At present Ulrich Kern is engaged as first conductor and deputy music director at Görlitz Theatre. In 2013 he was awarded with the special prize of the Theaterverein and with the Public's Prize in honor of his successful work.

July 2019

vita

Vita

„Magisch! Zauberhaft“ schreibt La Provence über Ulrich Kerns Interpretation von Beethovens Neunter Sinfonie. Ulrich Kern überzeugt durch seine stilsicheren Interpretationen auf Opern- und Konzertbühnen und widmet sich außerdem mit großer Leidenschaft der Musik des 20./21. Jahrhunderts.

In Stuttgart geboren, studierte der mittlerweile international gefragte Dirigent an den Musikhochschulen in Stuttgart und Weimar. Weitere entscheidende Impulse bekam er von Bernhard Haitink, Jorma Panula sowie in den USA von David Zinman. Durch die Förderung im Dirigentenforum des Deutschen Musikrats dirigierte er u.a. am Staatstheater Mainz und an der Kieler Oper.

Ulrich Kern hat inzwischen über 50 Bühnenwerke dirigiert. Sein Repertoire reicht von Mozarts späten Opern, Wagners „Tannhäuser“, Strawinskys „Le sacre du printemps“ bis hin zu Henzes letzter Oper „Gisela!“, deren Einstudierung er 2012 an der Semperoper Dresden übernahm.

Als Gastdirigent ist Ulrich Kern bei renommierten Klangkörpern zu erleben, u.a. bei der Deutschen Radiophilharmonie Saarbrücken, dem MDR-Sinfonieorchester, der Dresdner Philharmonie, dem Staatsorchester der Rheinischen Philharmonie Koblenz und der Nordwestdeutschen Philharmonie. In den USA debütierte er 2009 beim Spokane Symphony Orchestra, in Frankreich gastierte er 2011 mit dem Stuttgarter Kammerorchester. Ulrich Kern war an den Theatern in Bremen, Bielefeld, Osnabrück und am Staatstheater Salvador/ Brasilien zu erleben. Bei international renommierten Festivals ist der Dirigent gern gesehener Gast. So dirigierte er beim Aspen Music Festival Colorado, dem Nargen Festival Tallinn, der Ruhrtriennale, dem Impuls-Festival Sachsen-Anhalt, den „Internationalen Tagen für Neue Musik Darmstadt“, in den renommierten Konzertsälen Südamerikas wie dem Teatro Solis in Montevideo und dem neuen Konzertsaal CCK in Buenos Aires.

In der Saison 2019/20 wird Ulrich Kern sein Debüt am Pult der Stuttgarter Philharmoniker feiern und Beethovens 6. Sinfonie und sein 1. Klavierkonzert mit dem Solisten Martin Stadtfeld dirigieren. Beim Konzerthausorchester Berlin wird der Dirigent ebenfalls debütieren. Das MDR-Sinfonieorchester hat Ulrich Kern erneut eingeladen, als musikalischen Höhepunkt des Bauhaus-Festjahr eigens dafür komponierte Werke zur Uraufführung zu bringen. Weitere Einladungen führen Ulrich Kern zum Brandenburgischen Staatsorchester Frankfurt, zur Philharmonie Baden-Baden, zum Leipziger Sinfonieorchester und zur Camerata Rheingau. Am Pult der Neuen Lausitzer Philharmonie wird er unter anderem das 2. Philharmonische Konzert mit Werken von Hector Berlioz, Darius Milhaud und Camille Saint-Säens dirigieren.

Herausragend sind die Solisten, mit denen Ulrich Kern zusammenarbeitet, wie zuletzt Harriet Krijgh und Daniel Müller-Schott bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und mit der Harfenistin Anneleen Lenaerts in Gent.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit Komponisten unserer Zeit ist Ulrich Kern ein besonderes Anliegen. So eröffnete er 2017 mit dem "Ensemble Resonanz Hamburg" das "Flandern Festival Gent" mit einer Uraufführung von Kalevi Aho. In der Hamburger Laeiszhalle brachte der Dirigent Werke von Rebecca Saunders und Sven-Ingo Koch zur Uraufführung. In diesem Jahr erschien ein Konzertmitschnitt der Symphonischen Dichtung "Die Regentrude" von Klaus Wüsthoff auf CD mit Martina Gedeck als Sprecherin.

Rundfunkaufnahmen beim Saarländischen Rundfunk, mehrere Konzertübertragungen im Südwestdeutschen und beim Mitteldeutschen Rundfunk, zuletzt im Oktober 2017 sowie 2018 beim Norddeutschen Rundfunk runden seine umfangreiche künstlerische Tätigkeit ab.

Ulrich Kern wurde vielfach mit Preisen ausgezeichnet: So erhielt er für die CD „French Trombone Concertos“ mit dem Posaunisten Fabrice Millischer und der Deutschen Radiophilharmonie Saarbrücken den Deutschen Musikpreis „Echo Klassik 2014“ in der Kategorie „Konzerteinspielung des Jahres 20./21.Jh.“ 2006 gewann Ulrich Kern den „Dirigentenwettbewerb der Deutschen Musikhochschulen“, der von der „Herbert-von-Karajan-Stiftung Berlin“ gefördert wurde und erhielt bei diesem Wettbewerb außerdem den Sonderpreis für die beste Interpretation im Fach Oper.

Ulrich Kern ist derzeit Erster Kapellmeister und stellvertretender Generalmusikdirektor am Theater Görlitz, das ihn 2013 für seine außergewöhnlichen künstlerischen Erfolge mit dem Sonderpreis des Theatervereins und dem Publikumspreis ehrte.

Juli 2019